I Can’t Believe What I’ve Done | Sober and Unashamed

Matt Salis
4 min readOct 19, 2022

I’m a big horror movie fan. The beginning of October marks the start of the three-month holiday season for me. Up first…as many scary movies as my eyeballs can consume in 31 days. I like some of the slasher movies, most of the psychological thrillers, and the best of the classics. One thing I have no time for, however, is a movie centered around the old and tired plot of someone who turns into a despicable creature and does unspeakable things that he can’t later remember. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde , An American Werewolf in London , and any movie featuring the Incredible Hulk don’t do anything for me. The concept is boring because I’ve lived that plot. I’ve transformed into a monster who could do or say things I wouldn’t dream of in the light of the next day. Add a little toxic elixir, and the results were unpredictably terrifying. I don’t need to watch a movie to see the diabolical transformation. Been there, done that.

You see, I was an alcoholic.

Looking back on my time as a drinker, now almost six years clear of the compulsion to poison my brain and body, I am shocked by the cognitive dissonance I suffered. Now, if anyone insulted my wife the way I used to scream at her when I was a drinker, I would be livid. I used to fight over the car keys when I was almost too drunk to stand. I used to go from jolly and…

--

--

Matt Salis

I live in Denver, Colorado, with my wife and four kids. I write and speak about addiction and recovery. Please follow my blog at SoberAndUnashamed.com.